DOM33-L: Dominion "Where Muses Dwell" LP

Domestica Records

  • €17.00

Digital MP3: iTunes | Amazon | Spotify | Deezer | Beatport

A1. World History Trilogy:
- Into The Arena
- The Temple Crumbles
- Orphans Of The Empire
A2. Narcissus At The Pool
A3. Where Muses Dwell

B1. Sequencer's Song
B2. Ad Infinatum
B3. Semi-Divergence
B4. Theoretical Plane
B5. Predetermination
B6. Combustion

Dominion “Where Muses Dwell” by Andrew Szava-Kovats:
" This album came together quickly in 1985. It began as experiments in learning how to use some of the new technology that I had gotten: the Sampler (Ensoniq Mirage). I was deeply engrossed in its functions and capabilities. It seemed to be endless in what it could do and sound like. It could create rhythmic structures within the sound design. It could warp and mutate sounds as they were played. These were still relatively new concepts in music production at that time. I wanted to try them all. I used this approach to all my music-making equipment. It was my way of exploring the possibilities they had.

Generally, I was thinking cinematically. The music was a form of cinema. It was telling a story that I saw visually. For example: For the piece “Narcissus at the Pool” I saw a figure on the bank of a pond, looking at his reflection in the water. In order to affirm that image, I recorded some water dripping in my bath tub. The sound of dripping water became the foundation of the song.

Then there were more theoretical approaches to some pieces, as in “Ad Infinitum,” for which I recorded four tracks only, and with only one instrument: the Oberheim TVS-1. I recorded each track with the internal sequencer playing at its lowest possible tempo setting, with the highest amount of randomness set to the “sample/hold” function. After a track was recorded, I rewound the tape (yes, reel-to-reel tape) and recorded another track without listening to the first track, again with the synthesizer's sequencer set to the same tempo and s/h setting, but with different waveform and attack/decay settings. This I did four times to build the finished piece (because I only had a four-track recorder, the Teac 3240).

Much of the album was built through similar techniques. And although such scientific approaches may sound cold and calculated, I actually found the results to be organic and emotional. "

Andy Szava-Kovats (Edmonton, Canada, 1957) started his solo project Dominion with the release of cassette-album “Where Muses Dwell” in 1985 on his own imprint K.O. City Studio based in Dracut, Massachusetts. Dominion incorporates influences from Eno to Xymox, combining industrial and ambient sequences to create a unique atmosphere. More than 30 years on, Where Muses Dwell is still a strange gem, dark, captivating, abstract and mysterious well worth listening to attentively.

First-time ever vinyl edition, mastered from the original demo tape by Ruud Lekx. Includes insert with liner notes by Andrew Szava-Kovats himself. 400 copies made.

Release date: October 1, 2017

We Also Recommend